H.E President Adama Barrow Receives Advisory Note from Eminent Persons Group on Development Planning Reforms in The Gambia



In support of the reform agenda of His Excellency, President Adama Barrow, the 14 member "Eminent Persons" Group (EPG) on Development Planning Reforms in The Gambia yesterday submitted to The President, an Advisory Note related to the institutional framework for coordinating planning and implementation of development plans in The Gambia.

The EPG was led to State House by the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Hon. Mambury Njie who constituted the group late last year to advise the Ministry in its capacity as the locus for development planning, on how The Gambia can adapt its existing institutional and coordination frameworks or establish new ones in order to implement the upcoming Green Recovery Focused National Development Plan (GRF-NDP) and Long-Term Vison (LTDV). The EPG was further tasked to advise on how to improve the functioning and promote horizontal and vertical coherence of institutions involved in development planning; as well as guide on the allocation of responsibilities, and key factors Government should take into account when establishing a new institutional framework or adapting an existing one. The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs, Mr. Abdoulie Jallow was also in attendance.

In thanking the EPG for its valuable contribution to national development, His Excellency President Adama Barrow, observed that the advisory note is very timely considering that The Gambia is formulating two development planning frameworks this year. The GRF-NDP as a successor to the soon to elapse NDP will serve as the vehicle through which the short- and medium-

term needs of the country will be comprehensively addressed. The LTDV on the other hand, will chart the long-term trajectory of the Country's development and transformation.

The EPG members are Mr. Alieu Momodou Ngum (Chairperson); Mr. Mustapha Darboe; Dr. Aminata Sillah; Mr. Baboucarr Modou Sarr; Mr. Abdou A B Njie; Ms. Mariama Lucy Fye Jagne; Prof. Gibril Faal; Mr. Crispin Grey- Johnson; Mr. Abdou Amadou Janha; Ms. Fatou Ndeye Gaye; Ms. Haddijatou Lamin Njie; Mr. Mamour Jagne; Dr. Kalidu M. Bayo; and Dr. Habibatou Drammeh.

The work of the EPG was supported by a technical secretariat comprised of some staff of the Directorate of Development Planning and the COVID-19 Socioeconomic and Recovery Secretariat.